Cakes, Sunsets and Tears

My last blog post ended with me stating that I would be spending Saturday evening watching Strictly accompanied by cava. I did and I ended up drinking the whole bottle, whoops. My parents actually bought me a stopper for fizz so that I can drink a glass and keep it fizzy while it continues to chill/ not drink an entire bottle while watching Strictly. Unfortunately the stopper then makes the bottle too tall to sit in the fridge door. This means I either have to leave it in the fridge where It will lose all its fizz or drink the whole bottle and I think everyone knows which one I’m more likely to choose. So I got a little drunk then just sat for an hour and a half marvelling at Chris Pratt in Jurassic World, standard Saturday evening. On Sunday I awoke feeling a lot fresher than I expected and after doing the few things I had to prepare for school I watched 10 Things I Hate About You – Heath and JGL are unbeatable combo – and generally just chilled out while mentally preparing myself for another week.

School has been fairly average this week, I finally met the classes I have on a Wednesday and completed my first “full week” – it’s only 13 hours – which has just resulted in me taking even more naps. Monday was Cinthia’s birthday so after school I went to Carrefour and bought a Milka cake – I was going to make on from scratch but we currently don’t have any scales – but I added a lot more chocolate. The chocolate chips in the mixture, bar of Milka melted on top – yass cake. When Katie and Cinthia were both home we headed over to Cinthia’s where we chilled for a bit, ate cake, chatted a while before heading home because school night.

p1260259

On Wednesday I met up with Sofia and Cinthia for what is now being referred to as Crepe-nesday after realising that for the past 3 weeks we have eaten crepes on a Wednesday. Katie joined us after the gym – because who doesn’t love crepes – and we now have a Vigo tradition and we’re very excited.

I have 2 and a half hours free in the middle of the day on Thursdays so I walked around Panxón and sat in the sun while it’s still occasionally showing its face before going to back to school for my final class of the week.

dav
Panxon

I spent Thursday night with Sofia, Cinthia and Sarah, our original plan was to try again for sunsets at the port but we decided to walk to El Castro and watch it from there. It really is beautiful and you can see all the Islands from the top. Glorious.

We then returned to Sofia and Cinthia’s flat where we drank wine – I understand your comment now Dad, all the wine – before I returned home for sleep.

On Friday I had my first I’m-feeling-a-little-overwhelmed-and-I-can’t-seem-to-stop-crying-for-absolutely-no-reason meltdown. I returned to the flat after popping to Eroski for a few things I’d forgotten to buy earlier and quite quickly just felt emotionally and physically drained. I decided to watch a film which I think was working – as the Holiday was on Sky – until Arthur walks into that theatre and there’s that huge applause and the music swells and the camera zooms in on his face. That scene can make me cry even when I’m having the best day but yesterday it had me on the verge of a breakdown. I’d expected it in the first week so I’m surprised it took me till now for it to happen. My original plan was to stay at home for the rest of the evening but Sofia convinced me to head round to theirs to watch a film and chill. We ended up watching Breakfast at Tiffany’s as none of us had seen it before, but I don’t think any of us will be rushing to watch it again. Review from Cinthia “it’s meant to be really good, and it’s just not”. Also that portrayal of the Japanese neighbour by Mickey Rooney was honestly painful to watch. I got home a little before 2 and chatted for a little with Katie before heading to sleep. Not the best day, but I’ve definitely had worse, and they should probably be expected living 1500 miles away from home.

Which brings us to today where my plan is to drink lots of cups of minty morocco tea and watch Richard Curtis films until Strictly starts.

Leave a Reply

