Migraines, More Movies and Even More Wine

I spent Saturday evening exactly how I’d foreseen, with cups of tea and television. Everybody else went out and I had an early night. This meant that when I woke up on Sunday I was feeling refreshed and a whole lot better. I spent the morning preparing some things for school and lounging around the flat. In the afternoon we went to Moaña and Cangas to meet up with Leyre and her boyfriend Davide. We took the boat from Vigo to Cangas where they were going to pick us up and then drive to do exciting things.

 

Davide is from Moaña so he took us to a castle ruins in the forest that is not at all popular with tourists. The problem was the weather was beautiful on Sunday so it was a lot busier than anybody was expecting. The first thing that hit me was the smell as we walked in to the forest, exactly like walks around Gibside at home. The ground was covered in leaves and I finally felt like I was experiencing the beauty of autumn for the first time this year. The castle was originally built by a Count as somewhere for his children to play and it was lovely to do something that is very off the beaten track.

IMG-20161113-WA0017.jpg

We then drove around for a while before stopping at a place to watch the sunset where we climbed up some rocks and were treated to an absolutely spectacular view. It was so beautiful and a perfect evening for it.

After the sun had set and the temperature had dropped, we piled back into the car and drove back towards the port at Moaña where Davide was meeting some friends. On the way there we also caught a glimpse of Enrique Iglesias’ summer home in Galicia which is a huge home overlooking the water – everybody’s dream. After cups of tea with Davide’s friends we headed back to Cangas where Leyre, Katie, Sofia and I caught the boat back to Vigo. It was exactly the kind of day we’d all wanted – maximum reward for minimum effort.

Monday was standard Monday at school; classes, cup of tea by the sea, more classes and home. I had a few more things to do for my classes then I settled down to watch some TV. I watched Children in Need Rocks for Terry and cried for 90% of it. The other 10% was spent laughing at Terry Wogan reading the Janet and John story, he was honestly a national treasure and is missed by millions.

Tuesday was due to be a similar type of day but I awoke at 5 am with a migraine. I think most people who know me know I get migraines a lot, they’re a pain in the arse as they always seem to happen at the worst times. This was not the first migraine I’ve had since getting here – I’ve had a few hit in the middle of classes but I’ve managed to work through it – but it was definitely the worst. As soon as my alarm went off at 7am I knew I wasn’t going to be able to work through it. I messaged my co-ordinator who was very understanding and went back to sleep. I spent the day in bed, drinking lots of water and listening to Roald Dahl audiobooks. As a flat we had planned to spend Tuesday evening celebrating Leyre’s birthday – which was on Wednesday but she was travelling home to Pamplona early on Wednesday morning – so at about 4pm I dragged myself out of bed to make a cake. When Katie returned back she received a message from Davide saying that Leyre’s course mates were planning a surprise celebration for her at a bar near the port. I knew I wasn’t going to be able to make it there but it sounds like they all had a glorious evening drinking wine, eating tapas and celebrating Leyre.

I woke on Wednesday morning feeling a whole lot better and headed to school. Wednesdays are my short days – I finish at 11.30 after only having 2 classes – and it worked out well to ease myself back in after my day off. Wednesday is also Crepe-nesday as all of you know and we went back to homemade, milka filled crepes but the evening ended relatively early as everybody had things to do for Thursday.

Thursday was the end of my working week and other than a rather interesting piece of writing on Pokemon Go by one of the 4th ESO students – he claimed one team “sucks ass” and another was complete “bullshit” – the day was uneventful but I was happy when it was over. When Katie arrived home from her final private class of the day we finally got round to watching the end of The Crown – definitely a grower, we were addicted by the time we got to the final episodes – before we went out for a few drinks at Cafeteria Sevilla.

Yesterday I woke to an empty flat. Sienna had left for Valencia on Thursday morning and Katie left Friday morning for Gijon where she is staying with a girl she goes to uni with. My intention had been to have a productive day which was how it started. I did 2 loads of laundry, went shopping and started tidying my room before I decided to have a slice of toast. I had bought a glorious chunk of bread which it turns out has a seriously thick crust. My parents had bought me some knives as a housewarming present after realising that the ones we had were about as much use as a chocolate fireguard and I had spent a week telling everyone to be careful as they would be sharp. I think you’ve probably guessed where this is heading but yes I managed to slice my finger instead of the bread. It bled profusely for a good 10 minutes before I put a plaster on it. I think it’s better today but I have still got it covered because I know for a fact that I’ll end up forgetting about it and knocking it. After the knife incident the productivity came to a screeching halt and I spent the rest of my day watching The Secret Life of 4 year olds and The Quartet – Maggie Smith and Billy Connolly are both absolutely excellent human beings. My plan for Friday evening was to watch Children in Need with a bottle of wine and then go to sleep. At about 10pm however I ended up heading out and meeting up with Sofia and some of the other auxiliares.

The evening was excellent but it did continue until 4am.

So today I have been hungover and tired. I’ve watched Notting Hill and I’ve come close to drowning myself in mint tea but finally at 8pm I think I’m feeling better. I will be continuing the tea drinking while watching Strictly and hopefully tomorrow will be more productive.

One thought on “Migraines, More Movies and Even More Wine

Leave a Reply

