Galentine’s Day

Galentine’s day has very quickly become one of my favourite days in the year. It was created for the TV show Parks and Recreation in 2010. It is best described by Leslie Knope as ” the best day of the year. Every February 13th, my lady friends and I leave our husbands and boyfriends at home and just come kick it breakfast style. Ladies celebrating ladies.” I first watched Parks and Recreation in 2014. “Watched” is probably putting it quite lightly – for a month or so at the beginning of my final year I watched little else and I was instantly obsessed.

With my obsession in full flow by February it was decided that we would celebrate Galentine’s day and it was excellent. I had only spent time with Else once or twice prior to the 13th but when Briony asked if it would be cool if she joined I of course said yes. It was the evening that Else and I became Facebook friends and the evening we became a trio, the Clan. It was also the evening that caused my first two day hangover but it was definitely worth it. Between us we drank a bottle of cava followed by 1l bottle of Gordon’s turned into a range of cocktails, we ate pasta bake – before Briony went full gluten free – and we discussed our lives. It was 100% the best evening of my university life in Hull.

Last year was when I became seriously committed to Galentine’s card making. I made and sent 6 cards – some with a load of heart shaped chocolates and other treats, all full of glitter confetti. Hannah and I then went for belated Galentine’s celebrations at Hop and Cleaver and I ate incredible chicken and waffles and we drank cocktails. Friends and cocktails; there is no downside to Galentine’s day.

This year i’ve sent 8 cards as my love for Galentine’s and my fave gals grows.


It has unfortunately fallen on a Monday this year meaning I can’t get ridiculously gin drunk but it will no doubt include some wine and waffles, and is sure to immensely improve a Monday.

My best friends and I rarely need an occasion to share our appreciation for each other. It spills out when one of us is a little drunk, sad or just feeling the love and turns into a fountain of compliments, reminiscing and joy. But the thing I love about Galentine’s is it’s a day dedicated to empowering, embracing and generally just loving your female friends. Women often forget how incredible close friends are; we get caught up in our daily lives, distracted by men or allow some little thing to break up a friendship. Female friendships are essential. They’re the people who are there for you when you’re upset, celebrating or having yet another breakdown about what you’re going to do with your life.

So next week appreciate the gals in your life, tell them what they mean to you and shower them with the love – and glitter confetti – that they deserve. Share the Galentine’s joy ❤️

One thought on “Galentine’s Day

Leave a Reply

