You Say Tomato, I Say Salsa

After tea last week, Katie and I settled down to watch Fantastic Beasts. After 20 minutes Katie left saying it wasn’t what she was expecting and she didn’t think she was going to like it. I, on the other hand, absolutely loved it. Everything about it was excellent and when Newt was showing all the creatures to Jacob I was massively disappointed that I hadn’t been able to see it at the cinema, on a bigger screen. 

The weather was nice again on Sunday but as I wasn’t feeling 100% I decided to stay in the flat but enjoyed relaxing in the sun on our balcony. I’ve recently started eating tomatoes so this week for lunch I have mostly been eating toast rubbed with garlic and covered in tomatoes, sometimes with jamón – so much that I am probably going to turn into a tomato before I return to England – and it has been excellent, especially in this weather. 


After a while Katie wanted to get out of the flat and the plan was to head to the beach but after getting to the bus stop we found we’d not long missed a bus. We walked to La Terraza for a drink where it was gorgeous to sit in the sun but when we got the bill we were once again reminded why we don’t go more often. We popped in to one of the few shops that is open on a Sunday and treated ourselves to an ice cream – treat for doing absolutely nothing in my case. I then spent the rest of the evening watching the IT crowd. 

Monday morning meant the first “full” week of school in a while but again the classes have been fairly easy for me. Secondary classes have all either had exams or have been revising for exams so I was just making sure they knew the vocabulary and the grammar structures that were going to be on the exams. As Monday was the day after World Book Day Primary classes had a reading class on the beach where older students read to the younger ones. 


While waiting for the bus I was also lucky enough to watch a pod of dolphins swimming in the bay which was incredible – the camera on my phone is horrendous as soon as you start to zoom so there are no pictures. 

On Wednesday I got off the bus a stop earlier and dropped into a second hand book shop off Gran Via – 1 book €3.90, 2 books €7 and 4 books €12 – where i spent a good half an hour just looking at books before buying 4 books – some in English and some in Spanish. In the evening we were joined by Katie Cav for yet another glorious crepe-nesday – not quite as wine filled as last week.

I spent most of Thursday reading – between classes, waiting for the bus, on the bus, in the flat – before making my own salsa and enjoying a gin to celebrate the beginning of a 4 day weekend. 

Friday was exactly the kind of chilled day I needed and I spent most of the afternoon reading on our balcony – missed a spot on my back when I was putting sun cream on so I have a nice red patch – before catching up on Peter Kay’s car share and Our Friend Victoria – laughter is so good for the soul and I felt glorious for the rest of the evening. 

Today a few of us have rented a car and are heading to a village outside of Ourense for a wine festival which I am very excited about. Next week will also see the beginning of my last month in Vigo – days are flying. 

2 thoughts on “You Say Tomato, I Say Salsa

  1. Love the Fast Show reference! Enjoy those tomatoes, I think you’ll struggle to find ones as nice when you get home (unless you spend a large fortune!)

    Like

Leave a Reply

